Highlights from The Elder Scrolls Online Reddit AMA

1072250_765547080121994_432674631_o

 

Earlier today, ESO fans and skeptics alike took to Reddit as four of the main guys in charge of the upcoming MMO, The Elder Scrolls Online, held an “AMA” or “Ask Me Anything.” Reddit users were able to submit questions in the hopes that one of the developers taking part would answer their inquiry. Taking part in the AMA were Paul Sage, Matt Firor, Nick Konkle and Brian Wheeler. Community managers Gina Bruno and Jessica Folsom were also on hand answering general questions as well.  As anyone who frequents Reddit knows, things can get out of hand and confusing quickly, especially for those unfamiliar with the internet platform.

Here are some of the highlights from the AMA. Of course, if you want to read every questions and answer, you may do so here.

  • The times for the LIVE servers opening was announced. Here is the timetable from 5-Day Early Access till Launch:
      • For 5 day early access:
        North America (East): 7:00 AM EDT, Sunday March 30th–
        UK/IE: 12:00 PM WEST, Sunday March 30th–
        Central Europe: 1:00 PM CEST, Sunday March 30th–
        Sydney, Australia: 10:00 PM AEDT, Sunday March 30th–
        Singapore: 7:00 PM SGT, Sunday March 30th —
      • For 3 day early access:
        North America (East): 7:00 AM EDT, Tuesday April 1st–
        UK/IE: 12:00 PM WEST, Tuesday April 1st–
        Central Europe: 1:00 PM CEST, Tuesday April 1st–
        Sydney, Australia: 10:00 PM AEDT, Tuesday April 1st–
        Singapore: 7:00 PM SGT, Tuesday April 1st–
    • …and for launch:
      North America (East): 7:00 PM EDT, Thursday, April 3rd–
      UK/IE: 12:00 AM WEST, Thursday, April 4th–
      Central Europe: 1:00 AM CEST, Thursday, April 4th–
      Sydney, Australia: 10:00 AM AEDT, Thursday, April 4th–
      Singapore: 7:00 AM SGT, Thursday, April 4th
  • For those hoping for speech bubbles, Matt Firor confirmed that there are no plans to bring to the game as of now.
  • Matt also confirmed that they are still making the “Starter Islands” optional, but easier to find. In a patch to hit the PTS, they are moving the quest giver to right outside the first door you walk through that will show you how to get to those “Starter Islands.”
  • In the realm of crafting, Paul Sage stated that some items you can find will have unique properties not available to crafters, though those proficient in crafting can enhance those items.
  • In regards to the changes made to the opening tutorial area, Paul Sage answered a question about the weapon rack changes:
    • Q: “At the start area of the latest Beta when you went through the start area to collect your first weapon this time there was only the choice of a Sword and nothing else. Will this change when the games goes live back to the choice of weapons as in previous betas?”
      A:”Yes. Our goal was to have several weapons you could just pick up. Not choosing, just pick them up. We changed this for launch in the tutorial. You will be able to pick up the weapons scattered there, and by the end of the tutorial should have access to most of the weapon types.”
  • For those wondering as well, the FOV slider will not be in the game at launch. No timetable from what I can see as to how long we can expect to wait on that.
  • Guilds will be excited about this one: Tabbards and Guild Insignia are in the works for a future update.
  • Brian Wheeler confirmed that there is no plans on adding dueling at this time.
  • The “cash shop” got a lot of play as well, and Matt Firor answered a question regarding what we could see in the shop in addition to what has already been announced:
    • The next items available for purchase are a name change service, and possibly some vanity pets. We have no timeline for these, so don’t expect them soon, and there aren’t concrete plans for anything else at the moment after that.

Wanted to end with this. Recently, reports have been coming out of the PTS forums as to the changes to the game’s API and what that means for the add-ons the player community has seen.

  • Q: My question to any of the developers is quite simply this, What drove you to your decision to Massacre the API as you did?. This has literally shot the modding community in the back and you guys need to realise that. We can’t even track information on our own character now. I would like some feedback on this because it is a very big matter of mine. While i like the game the base UI just doesn’t provide the features i am looking for, But the add ons were the final sway in my decision, But a mere 14 days before release you cancel them. WHY?.Paul Sage: We had to make decisions that were based on trying to make sure competitive elements of the game, both PvE and PvP had as level of a playing field as possible. As our API was in Beta, it exposed certain functions that made ‘macro programs’ much easier to abuse. Also, there were functions which were exposed that let the API display information not readily available to the normal game client, thus making some players feel they would be forced to use add-ons to remain competitive.While we are very aware this was going to hurt some add-ons, we felt these decisions were necessary. We certainly tried to keep in things which would still allow for damage numbers to be seen, and what was happening to your character to be seen. As we get deeper into launch, we can always re-evaluate what is available and what isn’t.

So there you have it, some of the highlights from the AMA. Again, the full AMA is viewable here. If you want to track just the answers and stay away from all the fan response, here are the links to the guys’ accounts:

Paul Sage

Matt Firor

Nick Konkle

Brian Wheeler

3 comments

  • Great to see the weapon choice at the begining will still be there. Thanks for the post!

  • What mods are being targeted by this API change? I was really looking forward to the ui mod Atropos made and I hope its not gutted by this

  • Barrett Ruggles

    Nick Konkle answered the following question:

    Q: Is there a reasoning that the Khajiit passive Carnage doesn’t work with Bow/Ranged attacks?

    A: That’s a bug. Whoops! I thought we fixed it already. I’ll check to make sure that’s fixed today! Should be good to go for launch.

    I would love an official response as to whether or not he was confused by the question. All sources (PTS, Patch Notes, Etc.) have no indication that Carnage crit bonus will apply to Bows, but this makes it seem like it will.

    Anyone seen any official source addressing this Racial?

Leave a Reply